October 26, 2009

  • My Loving Wife and Best Friend

    On August 23, 2009 9:15 PM I lost my wife to a pulmonary embolism after three years of treatment for ovarian cancer. In the days that followed I would read her “Robin Kearney” Facebook page and the “R.I.P. Mrs. Kearney you will never be forgotten” Facebook page that was created by one of Robin’s former students. It was so comforting to read the posts that were written on these pages, Robin has touched so many lives and they wanted to share their feelings and memories.

    Robin and I were never able to have children of our own, yet Robin had hundreds maybe thousands of kids. One of my joys over the years is the contact I got to have (even through rather limited) with Robin’s students. I was and am part of a much bigger family. Many of Robin’s students called her momma K and once you were a part of the family it was for life. At all of the schools she worked at Robin became known as the teacher you could go to with your problems, and you would always feel accepted. I remember a freshman came up to her one day and said “hi you don’t know me but I was told you help kids and I don’t have money for lunch”. Needless to say Robin took care of his problem as she would for any of her kids.

    I have seen posts from students that span twenty years and I’m touched by the feelings and the memories that they shared. One of the great things about today’s technologies is the ease of communication; it enabled Robin to stay actively in contact with many former students as they went on to college or moved on in life.

    After reading the Facebook pages I moved on to Robin’s blogs, her online diaries http://robinflamingo.xanga.com/ and http://robinkearney.redtoenail.org/. The first blog on xanga.com was a blog Robin started long before she knew she had cancer and is a daily blog were she discussed everything. The second blog on redtoenail.org is an online community that provides support for people with cancer and their caregivers, friends, and family. Redtoenail.org provides a place were you can meet people who can really say “I know what you are going through” because they are dealing with cancer too.

    I found these blogs to be a terrific gift that Robin has left for me and her family. In reading Robin’s updates I remember many of these days so clearly because we had been living them together. The things that empress one in reading these post’s is that Robin was always thankful for all the gifts God gave her and frequently listed them. Robin saw Gods hand in many of the events in her life and she never lost faith. Robin never believed that God decided she would have cancer, but she did feel God guided other events to make coping with cancer easier.

    Robin did not lose the battle with cancer, I truly believe she won. She never let sickness, chemo, surgery, radiation, pain or fatigue keep her from living her life to the very end. There were days when Robin would be dressed for school, sitting on the bed crying and I would say you don’t have to go and she would reply that she did. She would go and when she was teaching or with her students she truly felt better because they were so important to her.

     ears

    This is Robin a friend, a mentor, a teacher, a daughter, a mother, a sister, a aunt, My Loving Wife and Best Friend.

    I will love and miss you forever.

    Mike

     

Comments (21)

  • We all miss her so much.  I miss learning from her.  She taught me so much.  She taught me how to live without being able to have children; to embrace the children in your own life and realize that you can make a difference in their lives even if you aren’t their God-given Mom.  Her love for God and others will never be forgotten.  We are all truly blessed to have had her in our lives.  God’s blessings to you Mike, as you move forward in your life remembering God’s greatest blessings he has given you.

  • Robin was an absolute gem here in this world – and I know she’s a gem now in Heaven.  Bless you, Mike, as you live your life with the memories of this wonderful lady. 

  • Well done, Mike. I have also read Robin’s Red toe Nail Blogs, although I have not gotten through them all and I do feel as if I am discovering alot  I did not know about Robin or maybe what she went through. I find I can only take it in in small doses and I feel a definite melancholy afterwards. Not the best way to prepare for work! All of us here miss Robin yet our loss is dwarfed by your loss, Mike. She was a woman of faith, strength, grace and joy and we will hold her in our heart always. We love you.

  • Mike….I never met Robin in person, yet knew her through weight watchers and her blogs.  She shared herself generously with the world & yet also intimately one on one.  It took awhile for it to sink in that there would be no further communication from her.  Thank you for your post.  Am sure your journey will go in phases, but, you sound strong.  I have several friends that are celebrating birthdays in this few days & know that Robin was looking foward to having a healthy birthday.  In a way..she did…she is whole now & healthy in heaven & even though separated from you & us..am sure she is smiling that radiant smile.  Thanks again for the timely post.  God Bless You….Susan

  • Mike,  What a treasure it was to come here and see an update.  I still drop by almost daily.  It may seem strange, but it helps me feel connected to Robin.  There is so much that brings her to mind and I hold her close to my heart.  The online friendship we shared for over ten years brought us closer together than I am with many of my “in person” friends and I miss her terribly.  You are in my prayers and thoughts so very often, particularly on Wednesday, her birthday.  May God keep you in His care until the two of you are together again.  Thank you for sharing your beautiful wife with us.

    Maria

  • I am truly blessed to have had Mrs. Kearney as a teacher, she was an incredible teacher & always made the room come alive. She has touched the lives of so many people & inspired me to never give up. Mrs. Kearney was a wonderful person, even though i wasn’t as close to her as other students i did notice her incredible personality. She always made me feel accepted and taught me to never let anything hold me down, but to leave it in Gods hands. It would be impossible to forget one of my favorite teachers. Your family is in my prayers. 

  • Mike, Robin blessed us all, and you have blessed us with this beautiful post about her. I miss her a lot. Her messages on xanga and facebook were always amazing. God Bless You and give you comfort.
    –Michele, LHN Alumni

  • Mike, what a beautiful tribute to a wonderful lady and friend! I miss Robin so much… I am glad this blog is available… it gives me inspiration and comfort to come here and read… to remember Robin and all she stood for…. She truly was and is a woman of God, what I want to be.  Her students were blessed to have her as their teacher and mentor, their helper… Her friends, myself included, were tremendously blessed to have known her. When I get down and think I cannot do something due to my health, I think of Robin and her courage… I recall when I was worried and scared about making a business trip with my husband. I was not in good health and was concerned that I would not be able to make it. Robin told me to go and do whatever I could… I did and she was right. I did what I could and had a good time. I think of her so often… Please know you and all of Robin’s family are in my prayers.

  • Happy Thanksgiving Robin.  Your friendship gave me much to be grateful for.  I miss you daily. 

     Love,

    Maria

  • Robin, I just wanted to say I am so thankful to have known you…. I miss you so much.

    Mike, please know you and all of Robin’s family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  • Happy First Christmas in heaven, Robin.

  • It’s been a year since you have departed.  I miss you and think of you daily still.  Thank you for your friendship, wisdom and love.  May God keep you in His care until we meet “again.”

  • I remembered the day because it is my nephews birthday & remembered how shocked I was to hear of Robin’s passing….So, now it has been a year dear one….hope this doesn’t sound strange, but, Happy one year anniversary in heaven.  Have you been watching what is going on this past year on earth since you have been gone?  For me, I grieve at what is happening in America & so many people hurting in pain. Are you sitting with Jesus right now? Can you tell him I said “hello”?  Miss you, but know that you re in a better place :)

  • I see that many people sent their birthday wishes via Facebook, but I will leave mine here, for this is where we spent the majority of our “years” together….it is our place.  I miss you and still think of you so very often.  There are dozens of things that I would typically run to the computer to “tell Robin” and I am left without you to share them with.  But somehow I know, you know them anyways and are smiling or weeping with me, whatever the case may be.  Happy birthday, my dear friend.  You are in my heart forever.  I love you.

  • Merry Christmas Robin.  Thinking of you and missing you still.

  • We had sushi for dinner last night and I wanted tell you about it so you could say,  “Eewwwww.”  i miss you still!!!

  • Two years ago, you left this earth, but you have never left my heart.  Sending you love until we are reunited.  xo

  • LZLUAB5UO76UXNED5SD
    UGG Classic Short Boots add some color to your winter life
    It’s mentioned to be able to begin within Completely new Sealing in addition to Sydney. <a href="http://www.cheapuggsboots2012.com/ugg-classic-cardy-5819-c-8.html">UGG Classic Cardy are usually pretty costly because when in comparison with assorted Ugg Brief boots. nonetheless you can still find an incredible provide connected with store supplying affordable <a href="http://www.cheapuggsboots2012.com/ugg-kids-boots-c-15.html">UGG Kids Boots in addition to these kinds of shops may by any means situations finish up being acquired on-line.<a href="http://www.cheapuggsboots2012.com/ugg-classic-short-5825-c-11.html">Ugg Classic Short is really easy. Each brand includes a beautiful story. If you notice ugg, what’s the first impression from it?

  • Happy Birthday, Robin.  I miss you daily.  Tell God to give you a hug for me!

  • Missing you still.  I have so much to tell you when we meet at the Lord’s feet.  It will be wonderful to give you an in person hug after all these years. 

  • This cannot have effect in actual fact, that’s what I think. site 7 5. I fully agree with anything you’ve printed here. site 4 8. Gosh, there is really much useful information above! 9 8 9. Quite worthwhile material, thanks for your post.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *