February 7, 2009

  • The Week in Review

    Okay, I can no longer keep my mouth shut.  You all knew it had to happen.  It’s been two full weeks and I haven’t said a thing.  I finally have to speak.  (I hear many of you saying to yourself, “Self, it’s finally happened.  Robin has lost it.  She’s rambled on for four sentences and hasn’t said a thing.” (However, if you add the three sentences I just wrote for you to say, and this one, we are up to eight.  Pretty good, huh?  (nine.)))

    Idol LogoYes, it’s finally time to talk about American Idol.  AI.  The juggernaut that has no end in sight.  It’s still as entertaining as it was in the beginning, although it is getting weirder and weirder.  Why?  Two reasons:  First of all, the new judge.  Kara seems to be Paula with talent and brains, which means that more often than not, the two of them are ganged up in the middle, with Randy dawgin’ it on one end of the judge’s table, and Simon harumphing on the other.  This makes for a new dynamic.  Plus, she isn’t tired of standing up to Simon as much as Paula is yet, so she’s still darned feisty.  I think it’s recharging Paula’s batteries, too, to have an ally in the ranks.  Secondly, the contestants are weirder in audition week, and more talented at Hollywood week than any other year I can remember.  On group night, I would have bought a CD done by the first group that sang!  There are some amazing singers/performers out there this year, most of whom seemed to come from Salt Lake City – except the poor Osmond Son, who didn’t make it thru.  Now you KNOW it’s competitive if a kid who was brought up performing and being performed around in a family like the Osmonds doesn’t make the cut.  Bikini Girl, thank goodness, got sent home this week, and now we are down to about 40 kids that can REALLY sing.  I know a lot of people love the first three weeks of AI and don’t watch the rest, but for me, it starts now.  They start getting names, and personalities, and backstories.  Stay tuned for more from me, RobinIdol, as the weeks wear on.

    hellskitchenvs5Since I’m no longer a Grey’s Anatomy fan, I can now watch Hell’s Kitchen without popping back and forth. I’ve always liked the show because it demonstrates REAL cooking skill and passion.  Last Thursday, Gordon Ramsay (if he didn’t swear so much, he’d be my dream man) showed how to actually shuck a scallop.  Since it’s my favorite seafood, I found it fascinating.  I also agreed with one of the chef contestants who said if the population knew how ugly it was, they’d never eat it.  But once it’s shucked CORRECTLY, it’s pristine white, round, meaty and succulent.  Okay, I just made myself hungry.  Anyway, there’s still 14 chefs left, so I am not sure who my favorites are.  I think they’ll begin sorting themselves out in a week or so as well.  Believe me, I’ll let you know.

    ERLast TV bit.  If you were EVER a fan of ER in the last 15 years, and you aren’t watching this season, you should be.  Honestly, it’s like the ER of old – not only are the regular characters now likable again, but the writing is crisp and original.  Add in that every single week is like a sweeps event with the returning original cast members and the super duper guest stars, it’s back to being a show well worth watching again.  Two years ago I kept saying, “Why is this still on?” and this year I’m saying, “I can’t believe this is the last season.”  But what better way to go out, yes?

    ______________________________________________________________

    I had a terrific doctor’s appointment on Tuesday.  He said the tumor was dissolving, there wasn’t any fluid on my lungs or belly…he suspected that my next count would be in the 60s.

    Then yesterday when the counts came back, it was 249.  It went up 145.  How does this happen?  He doesn’t know, I don’t know.  All I know is I can’t stop crying because I’m so very tired after three years of this.  He says we will test again on Tuesday so he’ll see me Thursday before chemo.

    It will be a long week.  Thank goodness my TV shows are back. 

Comments (10)

  • Oh Robin, how did that happen?  (Not that I expect you to have an answer.)  Sigh.

    Glad to hear you at least have good distractions in your life.

    Sending you love, hugs, and prayers!

    Maria

  • When they started off this season killing off Pratt and getting rid of Abbey I sure wasn’t sure of where they were taking the show but I love how they have brought the old characters back and I like what they are doing with Archie. ER is a not to be missed show for me. Have you watched Medium before- it started back this past Monday at 10:00pm? That is another well written, well acted shows. 

    What can we say about the other thing? One step in front of the other? Better luck next time? Hang in there? By now they all sound inadequate. We share your frustration and fatigue and look forward to better days (and spring)!

  • Hi Robin, I came by here earlier, left a comment, and then stupid me, navigated away from the page, and Xanga didn’t take the comment… so now I am back :)

    Please know you are ever in my heart and prayers. So glad they are going to do that test again…. I can only believe that the results were some kind of mistake, a fluke. Will think good thoughts for you!

    Thank you for the Idol and other TV updates! Since Guy goes to bed early, and he sleeps in the room where the TV is, I hardly ever get to watch anything…. so you are my Idol lifeline! :) Also I used to watch ER… maybe this final season is the time for me to watch again (whenever I can!) The cooking show sounds interesting, too…

    Again praying for you! You can do this! I do believe with all my heart that God is healing you.

  • @cheshirecat1 - Marcia, you have to learn the wonder of online TV.  Most episodes of everything are available the following day, either on the network website (ie http://www.nbc.com) or at http://www.hulu.com or even sometimes on youtube!!  These have been a lifesaver for me because I tend to fall asleep with the dumb cancer junk…

  • @RobinFlamingo - Hi again Robin…. I didn’t realize there so much available online! I just watched FOUR TV programs!!! You would think I was starved for TV! Thanks, my friend! :)

  • Oh Robin, I don’t know what to say.  Are they repeating these counts?  Could they at all be wrong?  After all, even the doctor thought things were improving… I hope they don’t make you wait too long to repeat the test.

  • ahhh….i am sorry to hear that the count went the opposite way of where it should….you are in my prayers.

  • Robin, just popping by to say you are in my thoughts and prayers…. Hope the test goes well….

    This weekend and today I completed watching ALL episodes of season 4 of “Hell’s Kitchen”… You have gotten me hooked! :) I do like Gordan Ramsay, but I wouldn’t like him screaming in my face! I also watched the “scallop” episode from season 5…. Good episode. I have never eaten scallops, but I’ll bet they would be good if they were prepared properly. Don’t think I’d want to shuck any though.

  • RYC – Thank you so much. What a beautiful way of looking at it.  Thank you…..

  • Hi Robin, coming by to say hello and to tell you I am praying for you…. Keep the faith! God is good!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *